jh’s thought 健豪随想

There are no secrets to success. It is the result of preparation, hard work, and learning from failure. – Colin Powell

YES MAN!

Recently i have watched this movie and i like it so much. People who know me should have known that i am not a movie person, i fall asleep whenever i watch movie. So there are really few movies that could make me awake throughout the whole movie. “Yes Man” is one of them. So i would like to introduce about this movie in this blog.

Synopsis of the movie

Yes Man

Yes Man

Yes Man” stars Jim Carrey as Carl Allen, a guy whose life is going nowhere-the operative word being “no”-until he signs up for a self-help program based on one simple covenant: say yes to everything…and anything. Unleashing the power of “YES” begins to transform Carl’s life in amazing and unexpected ways, getting him promoted at work and opening the door to a new romance. But his willingness to embrace every opportunity might just become too much of a good thing.

My comment:

Although it is a bit too extreme if you say “yes” to everything. But if you observe our daily life carefully,we exactly say no to many things. Some are verbally but some are in your mind. I have been thinking since i finished the movie and i realize that it is so true. I have been saying NO when the alarm clock waking me up in the early morning, i have been saying NO when my lecturers give me more assignment, i have been saying NO to vegetables, i have been saying NO when people give me advice, and the list goes on……Sad to say this, many of the things that i have been saying NO are actually good for me. :p

Besides that, the story actually reminded me about some of the books that i have read. Many successful entrepreneurs actually propose an open-minded spirit. Maybe that’s the reason why they could grab many opportunities and made use of them.I believe opportunities are everywhere. If we reject all the opportunities that we have met, we might miss the chance to change our life and to accomplish our dream. Think about this, when you try out something new and the thing turn out to be bad. Most likely you will only lose some times or money. But i am sure you will get some experience and learn something unexpectedly. But  if you are not willing to try at all, you might just miss out something great.

People nowadays like to stay in their comfort zone where changes are hardly made. No doubt, changes are really difficult to make. I use to wake up at 8am and it will be much difficult for me to wake up at 7am in a particular day. Well, it depends on how much effort that you are willing to put in. Donald Trump once said, force yourself to do something new for 7 days continously, then you will get use to it. I truly believe that because i have nuturing my reading habit by doing that.

So, let’s say yes together. haha…..I believe this will be a good practise to make our life fruitful. Just like what the movie caption says-“One word that can change everything” 🙂

21/01/2009 Posted by | Uncategorized | Leave a comment